Lilli Pilli Hedge

A forum for discussions and questions related to propagating and caring for Australian native plants.

Moderators: Forum_mod, Pam, jack

Lilli Pilli Hedge

Postby Greeny » Tue Dec 09, 2008 6:38 am

Ive been trying to grow a hedge from lilli pilli. Ive got the rhyophytic race ones I think they were called. Anyway I havent had much luck. Ive pruned regularly as recommended but theyve all grown very bare with big holes all through them. Ive been growing for 2 and 3/4 years now. Some of them have only reached just over a metre and some of them the leaves are very pale yellow and dont get much new growth. Im wondering if I should chop them right back below the bare branches? Will this help? I thought this was going to be an easy plant to grow but its not looking good. They arent in full sun as they are up against a fence on the western boundary so they dont get much sun in the afternoon but the rest of the day they get full sun. Any advise appreciated.
Greeny
Lawn trimmer

Re: Lilli Pilli Hedge

Postby bubba louie » Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:43 pm

A good start would be to add you location to your profile. What is the soil like?
“Just living is not enough... One must have sunshine, freedom, and a little flower.”
Hans Christian Andersen
bubba louie
Garden Wizard

Postby Greeny » Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:56 pm

Im on the northern beaches of sydney, the soil is quite poor as its full of builders rubble. I presume they back filled the land decades ago with rubbish which is sad.When I established the garden I pulled out so much rubbish but there is only so far you can go. Im having luck with lots of other plants though including some natives such as leptospernum but grevillias and lilli pillis are struggle.
Greeny
Lawn trimmer

Postby Greeny » Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:31 am

hullo anyone here?? dead forum huh?
Greeny
Lawn trimmer

Postby bubba louie » Tue Jan 06, 2009 12:44 pm

You have been neglected haven't you. :oops: :oops: :oops: